HOME > About World Heritage

About World Heritage

UNESCO World Heritage

World Heritage is ruins, building, or nature that is registered in the World Heritage List based on the World Heritage Convention (official name is “Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage” that was adopted in the 17th assembly meeting for UNESCO in 1972.They are treasure for all people that need to be inherited from the past to people living in the present in the world and inherit it to the future generation. It is required to be internationally protected, preserved and inherited to the future.

As of June 2014, there are 1007 World Heritages (779 cultural heritage, 197 natural heritages, and 31 mix heritage) and there are 190 countries are contracting parties of the convention.

Types of the World Heritage

There are three type of the World Heritage, and tangible properties are the subject to it.

Flow of the Registration

World Heritage in Japan

Japan submitted the acceptance document on June 30th, 1992 and became the 125th contracting country. As of July 2015, the following are the World Cultural Heritage and the World Natural Heritage in Japan.